Below is a list of the Defensive Driving FAQs, frequently asked questions about New York State’s Defensive Driving Course.
What is the Point and Insurance Reduction Program?
The Point & Insurance Reduction Program (PIRP) is also known as the Defensive Driving Course or Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course. It is a comprehensive driver safety course which provides knowledge and techniques for safe and lawful driving. In New York State, DMV must approve private companies or corporations (course sponsors) who wish to offer it. Each course meets strict standards for the type of information presented and program effectiveness. Empire Safety Council is an approved course sponsor.
What are the benefits of taking a Defensive Driving/Accident Prevention course?
When you complete an approved defensive driving class, you will refresh your driving knowledge and reduce up to 4 points from your NYS DMV driving record. In addition, you will receive a 10% reduction of the base rate of your auto liability, no fault and collision insurance premiums each year for three years. Please note: completion of a defensive driving/accident prevention course does not prevent a mandatory suspension or revocation. It also does not eliminate your responsibility to pay a driver responsibility assessment or give you a way to reduce future driver violation points.
How long is a classroom course?
We present this traditional classroom course in one or more sessions. Each session includes 320 minutes or 6 hours of instruction. Essential information about traffic safety issues such as driver attitude and behavior, defensive driving techniques, and the Vehicle and Traffic Law must be presented in each course. Formal testing is not required to complete the course.
How do I know my driving record shows my course completion?
Be safe. Upon completion of the course, verify that DMV has entered it on your record. To do this, request a copy of your driving record from the DMV. To do so, you can order your driving record online, or complete a Request for Driver and/or Vehicle Record Information (MV-15). In addition to being downloadable, this form is available at any motor vehicle office. Contact the Empire Safety Council if DMV has not noted your course completion on your driving record more than ten weeks after you completed it.
Defensive Driving FAQs
If you have a New York Drivers License, we hope you will consider taking our live Defensive Driving Course. You will save 10% off your auto insurance every year for 3 years, and reduce up to 4 points on your driving record. Finally, if you have any questions regarding this course that we haven’t answered thoroughly enough here, please contact us directly.